DeLand Family YMCA 50th Anniversary & Silent Auction to Honor Earl Colvard with Jerry Frierson Award

DeLand Family YMCA 50th Anniversary & Silent Auction to Honor Earl Colvard with Jerry Friarson Award


DeLand, FL, 10.23.17 – The DeLand Family YMCA has announced that Earl Colvard, President, and Owner of Boulevard Tire, has been named the 2017 Jerry Frierson Award recipient.


The award will be presented to Earl at the 50 the Anniversary Celebration & DeLand Family YMCA Silent Auction on Thursday, November 16, 2017, at the Wayne Sanborn Center.  Colvard, a long-time supporter of the DeLand Y, was recently selected by the Auction Committee and the Board of Directors at the Y.  The Jerry Frierson Award is given to members of the DeLand Family YMCA community who exemplify the selfless traits of its namesake.  Through their service to our DeLand Family Y, Earl has continued to give his time, talent and treasure to further the work of the Y in the DeLand community.


The DeLand YMCA has also announced that Melodee Clarke, Alice Fogle, and Pastor Wendell Raulerson will be the first recipients of the Annual Heart of the Y Awards for their dedication and commitment through the years to the mission and work of the DeLand YMCA.  Mrs. Clarke is a retired educator with the Volusia Public Schools and has been an active board member for the DeLand Y while also being a member of the Y.Mrs. Fogle is a retired Attorney who also served as a member of the Board of Directors for the DeLand Y, While on the board, Mrs. Fogle was the Chair Person of the Silent Auction and served on Various committees for the branch.

Pastor Raulerson has served at the Director of the Chaplain Services for the DeLand Y, is an active member of the Y, and has served as a spiritual leader and friend of the branch.


In announcing these awards, Gary Grumoli, Executive Director of the DeLand Y, stated, “With Earl, Melodee, Alice and Pastor Wendell being kind and humble enough to accept these awards, words cannot adequately describe the amount of time and work these four wonderful people have done on behalf of many children, families, and individuals at the DeLand Y through the years.  The word selfless comes to mind with them, as they are people who look to make the world a better place through their hard work and compassion for others.  I cannot think of anyone more deserving, and we are blessed to have them as members of our Y family.”


The awards will be given at the 50th Anniversary Celebration and Silent Auction for the DeLand  Family YMCA on Thursday, November 16, 2017, at 6:00 p.m. at the Wayne Sanborn Center.  Tickets are $25.00 each and are available at the DeLand   Family YMCA, 761 E. International Speedway Boulevard. (386)736-6000.  Co-Chairs for the event this year are Diane Zeidwig and John Terhune.

Mission Statement: To put Christian principles into practice through programs that build healthy spirit, mind and body for all.

Site Design by Stark LMC.